Be Careful What You Wish For

10 01 2011

As a kid I was always dreaming of the life I wanted; the places I wanted to visit; the things I wanted to own; the house I wanted to live in and the lifestyle I wanted to create.

I wanted it all!

And in many ways, I have been blessed to experience all of these things….albeit not always in quite the way I’d imagined at the time.

Continuing the theme of dream cars from yesterday’s blog; long before I attracted my little red sports car into my life, I was dreaming about having a Mercedes Sports car delivered as a present for my forthcoming birthday. I was so immersed in this fantasy that I had even cut out pictures of my dream car and had listed all the details, right down to the model (SL500), the colour (navy blue) and the interior leather (cream).

The day before my birthday, I received a phone call from a friend whom I’d not seen for some time, inviting me out for dinner the following day. Waiting outside my house for him to collect me, I was totally gob smacked when he arrived in the exact same car that I had been dreaming about!

I was so amazed that I ran around the vehicle checking that the all the details were exactly as I’d imagined them to be. When I asked my friend why the car hadn’t arrived gift wrapped with a big ribbon, he looked at me as though I’d completely taken leave of my senses!

It was obvious that he didn’t believe me when I described my birthday wish to him. The only way I could convince him that I was telling the truth was by dragging him into the house to show him the pictures I had pasted on my notice board. Needless to say, he was as amazed as I had been; particularly by the accuracy of the details.

Picking up on my enthusiasm, he graciously allowed me to drive to the restaurant and I got to experience what it felt like to be driving what was my dream car at the time.

Needless to say, I absolutely loved the experience – and I learnt a very big lesson when it comes to placing an order with the universe because when I’d made my wish I had missed out one very important detail…

…and the universe had listened intently; delivering exactly what I’d asked for…spot on time…and right down to the last detail. I’d just forgotten to add that I wanted the car to be mine forever…not just for the night!

So be careful what you ask for as you might just get it!

Day 10 – 365 Days of Celebration

Today I am celebrating the amazing power of the universe to deliver exactly what I’ve asked for, sometimes even before I’ve asked…now that is powerful!

Actions

Information

4 responses

10 01 2011
Jean Paul

Cracking!

11 01 2011
Leslie

Another well written blog which is interesting and helpful

11 01 2011
Lisa Xuan

Hi there. Read your post re blog buddies. Really like your blog and hope we can motivate each other. This post is great because it’s a great reminder that we need to be more specific in our requests and goals.

12 01 2011
1961 Girl

Hi Lisa. Thanks for signing up to my blog and for your lovely comments. I shall look forward to reading your blog as well. I have many more stories about how being less than specific brought me exactly what I’d asked for rather than what I thought I wanted! I will share some of these stories in future blogs. Best wishes. Julie

Leave a Reply

