The Power of One

14 01 2011

Only 14 days into the PostaDay 2011 Challenge and  blogging seems to have practically taken over my life!

These days I’m either thinking or dreaming about what I’m going to write; jotting down new ideas; getting carried with the writing of my blog, or searching for suitable graphics and videos to illustrate my post!  

I’ve given myself the gift of ‘hibernating’ for the month of January to focus on planting the seeds of success for 2011 and it’s been great fun planning lots of wonderful treats and exciting ventures to be launched in this special year.

However, my diary is now beginning to fill up for the months ahead and I have been wondering how I am going to meet this blogging challenge whilst juggling my other commitments.

I toyed with the idea of reverting to the PostaWeek 2011 Challenge, but that would have defeated the object of my 365 Days of Celebration!

52 Weeks of Celebration doesn’t sound quite the same somehow.

Dali – Persistence of Time

Please don’t get me wrong, I’d love to spend my days waxing lyrical about my thoughts on love, life and the universe.

But that wouldn’t leave much time for actually living my life.  

After much soul-searching, I’ve decided that I am going to more disciplined in my

approach. I will now give myself an hour a day to create my blog and each post will be shorter and quicker to read; no doubt to the relief of some my readers!  

I recognise that we all have very busy lives and I feel very humbled that you lovely people are taking time out in your busy schedules to read my daily postings. Time is such a valuable gift and we must learn to use it wisely.

So as from tomorrow, I will be working to The Power of One 

●          One hour to write and produce my daily post

●          One graphic or video

●          One daily ‘Cause for Celebration’

●          One Inspirational ‘Word of the Day’

●          One minute to read!

So in the (completely adapted) words of one of my greatest teachers, the truly inspirational Joel Roberts:-

The Power of One

Give me one minute

And I’ll give you an hour

Give me one minute

And I’ll give you my heart

Joel’s actual words were:-

Give me three days

And I’ll give you three minutes

Give me three minutes

And I’ll give you the world

Intrigued about Joel’s teachings?…then check out this video clip:-

Day 14 – 365 Days of Celebration

Today I celebrate the precious gift of time and learning to value every joyful minute!

Actions

Information

10 responses

14 01 2011
Jean Paul

Loving it Julie 🙂
(And I’m looking forward to hearing from Joel soon – what a great guy.)

15 01 2011
1961 Girl

Hey JP. Bless you for your lovely comment – and your support. I’m looking forward to connecting with Joel again as well. Have a great weekend.

14 01 2011
Lisa

Good priority.

15 01 2011
1961 Girl

Thanks Lisa. How are you doing with prioritsing your posts?

14 01 2011
ElizOF

You are not alone on this train of thought as a few of the team members, yours truly included, are finding that we need to become disciplined with this challenge or it will consume our lives…
I am also mulling the power of One concept and will have to silence my inner critic and just go for brevity – darn it! 🙂
Life is busy and time is short… Like you, I want to stick with this for as long as I am able… I might even start responding to those daily prompts which I have ignored to date. 🙂
Looks like I’ll be doing the vampire schedule for blog visits/comments…
My day times are getting hectic…. but I’m all in. 🙂
Elizabeth

14 01 2011
stephaniesomething

Ack! I’ve been having the same problem! I love your power of one idea.

–Stephanie

15 01 2011
1961 Girl

Thanks Stephanie. It is quite a challenge – and I’ve already failed in my Power of One quest today as I got carried away and spent another four hours producing today’s post! Good luck with finding a way to make it work for you as well.

14 01 2011
Just a little snarky

Way to not give in! I do enjoy reading your Daily posts.

15 01 2011
1961 Girl

Hey…thanks so much for your vote of confidence! Glad you like reading my posts. I guess I will endevour to keep on keeping on. Please keep reading cos it is lovely to have your support.

14 01 2011
Andy the great chocolate cake robber

Jay Zeta-kins

I would refer you to a busy Italian lad who work-a real-a hard in his day:

“Time stays long enough for those who use it.”

Leonardo da Vinci (1452-1519) Italian painter, sculptor and architect.

And with the mellifluous Thames gurgling past your front window:

“So we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past.

F. Scott Fitzgerald”

May I ask you this – when is your most prolific time to write? Writing is a river of appetite, when the personal Old Father Thames wordsmithy starts to flow you will continue to create until replete. You have talent, it may produce 200 spankingly good words, it may produce 2,000, feel the river and go with that flow. Love or hate Ernest Hemingway, his view was that it is often what you leave out that is more important.

Now enough of this dry sagacity, tomfoolery time approaches, don’t move from that exquisite little roll top desk or my ventriloquist’s dummy gets it!

Leave a Reply

