Mud and Stars

21 01 2011

“Two men looked out from prison bars, one saw mud, the other saw stars”

Anonymous

A friend quoted these words to me this evening, serving as a timely reminder that our experience of life is totally dependant upon our perspective.

It isn’t what happens to us that is important…it is our attitude towards what happens that will define our experience.

I had just spent the entire day preparing an important business proposal to present at a meeting tomorrow.

As gaining the support of this particular company is integral to the future success of my business, I had created a strong emotional attachment to a positive outcome.

So when I received an email earlier this evening saying that the meeting would have to be postponed for the next few weeks, my spirits immediately sank and negative thoughts began creeping in.

After investing so much effort and emotion into the creation of my business proposal, I allowed my disappointment to begin affecting my sense of well-being as I ran through a mental list of ‘what ifs’…

What if they don’t re-schedule our meeting?

What if they don’t ultimately like my proposal?

What if they change their minds about working with me?

What if?…    What if?…    What if?…

Even as I was thinking these negative thoughts, I knew that I had to change them… and quickly…as this kind of thinking wasn’t very supportive.

As I began to look out through the bars (of my negativity) and see the stars instead of mud, I began to see some of the positive benefits resulting from the change to my plans.

I realised that have gained a wonderful gift of some much-needed time as I’d been feeling under a lot of pressure to fit many different tasks into a short space of time.

Looking at what I have now gained…

● I can now relax and enjoy preparing for a friend’s visit this weekend.

● I can enjoy having the satisfaction of crossing a load more things off my ever-expanding ‘to do’ list!

● I can treat myself to a yoga class, or a visit to the cinema.

● I can even write my weekend blogs in advance and have the whole weekend off!

Most importantly, I have gained another few weeks to fine tune my business proposal and to get my new company on a stronger footing before our next meeting, thereby increasing the potential for a successful outcome!

It is amazing just how different everything looks since the stars have returned to my eyes!

Day 21 – 365 Days of Celebration

Today I am going to celebrate by enjoying the gift of time to spend in ways that will bring me great pleasure and joy.

Add to FaceBookAdd to Twitter

Actions

Information

3 responses

21 01 2011
Marion Driessen

Julie, wonderful! You are a strong and positive woman. And stars are way more beautiful than mud… to most people. Children would love the mud and ignore the stars. 🙂

24 01 2011
1961 Girl

Hi Marion.

Perhaps children love the mud because they view it with stars in their eyes, knowing how much fun will be had. J x

22 01 2011
eof737

Excellent Julie! We can never underestimate the gift of time… What a gift to have caught yourself too. It is easy to get absorbed in the what ifs so I applaud you. 🙂
I’m on my vampire schedule today… even if I don’t show up as the posts arrive in my box, I will make the effort to catch up. Don’t count me out yet 🙂
Have a great weekend!
Eliz

Leave a Reply

