Attitude of Gratitude

22 01 2011

“It’s not that beauty doesn’t exist in our world, it’s that we seldom seem to notice” – Susan Jeffers

 

The wonderful metaphysical teacher Susan Jeffers Phd, talks about the positive effects of developing an Attitude of Gratitude.

She suggests that we create an Abundance Journal to record all the things that we are grateful for in our lives. The idea is to list 50 reasons to be thankful for on a daily basis.

Initially this sounds like a huge undertaking and when you first begin this exercise it can be a bit of a struggle to come up with 10 reasons, let alone 50!

After a few days practice we begin to live with more awareness and we learn to take mental notes of just how much we have to be grateful for.

Until Focal Dystonia stole away my ability to hold a pen, and with it the pleasure of writing my journals, I used to do this exercise religiously before I retired for the night.

I’d forgotten just how much I used to enjoy the process until I came across some old journals this morning. Reading through my notes, I realised that I have begun to take a lot more for granted since I stopped writing my lists.

So, in honour of those bygone days of journal writing, I offer my grateful thanks to the universe for 50 things that I am grateful for in my life right now…

  1. My beautiful daughter – for bringing such joy into my life
  2. My family – for finally accepting me for who I am!
  3. My wonderful friends – for always being there for me
  4. My earth angels – and my heavenly angels – for reminding me that we are never alone
  5. Rejoicing in a friend’s good news that her cancer markers are all clear
  6. My little riverside house – for becoming my home
  7. My laptop and the internet – for giving me the freedom to write (in a different way) and to connect with people all over the world
  8. My neighbours – for helping to create a supportive community
  9. The ever changing view of the River Thames flowing outside my window
  10. Swans – my beautiful ‘angels of the river’
  11. My book collection – for the inspiration contained within their pages
  12. TV – for entertainment & knowledge – and background noise!
  13. My passport – for giving me the freedom to travel and for opening the gateway to so many adventures – past and future
  14. My little sports car – for bringing me many pleasurable years of driving along open roads with the roof down, the music turned up and the wind in my hair!
  15. My central heating – for keep me warm and snug throughout the cold winter months
  16. My digital camera – for kindly capturing some wonderful memories
  17. My dining table – for providing a comfortable place for friends to gather to share good food and great times
  18. The gift of a membership at my local spa – which has become my retreat and place of well-being
  19. The vase of beautiful scented pink lilies on my dining table
  20. The excitement of looking forward to a special a ‘girlie’ get together this weekend with my precious daughter and some close girl friends
  21. My mobile phone – for enabling me to stay connected with my loved ones
  22. My fridge full of healthy ingredients to turn into tasty meals
  23. Having the gift of time to be creative
  24. My sturdy collection of herbs – for having survived the cold winter
  25. My landlord – for saying nice things to the local press about the renovation work I had carried out on his property
  26. The vineyards of Portugal – for providing the grapes for the rather nice glass of red wine I am enjoying during the writing of this post!
  27. My cookery books – for inspiring me to create some adventurous dishes
  28. Being able to type – now I can no longer write
  29. My blog readers – for subscribing and for your lovely comments – bless you all
  30. My pretty display of candles – for giving my home a cosy glow
  31. My carved Balinese fisherman – for representing the love of the carver and for expressing the exquisite essence of Bali
  32. My treasured photos – for reminding me of such wonderful times
  33. For the privilege of living in such exciting times of change
  34. My beautiful collection of orchids – for your beauty and grace
  35. Freedom – to be able to choose what I want do – when I want to do it
  36. For all my ‘light worker’ friends working toward the creation of a better world
  37.  My Buddha’s – for bringing an energy of calm into my home
  38. Having enough food to eat, clothes to wear and a safe place to live – anything extra is a bonus for which I am truly grateful
  39. Today’s sunshine – for lifting my spirits and putting a smile on people’s faces
  40. The mist rising over the river in the early morning
  41. A healing massage – given freely by a beautiful soul whom I love dearly
  42. Finding the courage to admit – ‘I know nothing’
  43. My mother and father – for giving me the gift of life
  44. My eclectic music collection – for providing just the right background to support my ‘mood of the moment
  45. For the people who’ve served me today – your smiles have made my day
  46. For all the love and support that arrives from unexpected sources
  47. The beautiful bronze Pegasus that gracing my living room – for reminding me of the love of a friend who carried you all the way (by hand) from the Far East
  48. All the teachers who continue to appear in my life – for the lessons you have taught me – and for the reminder of how little I know!
  49. The Universe – for bringing me just what I need – just when I need it
  50. Mother Earth – for continuing to nurture and sustain us even though we have treated you so badly 

 What 50 things are you grateful for today?

Warning…be prepared to be overwhelmed by the abundance in your life!!!

 

“I’ve never a suffering neurotic person who was filled with gratitude –  David Reynolds

 

Day 22 – 365 Days of Celebration

Today I am going to celebrate the abundance of all the wonderful things I have in my life

Add to FaceBookAdd to Twitter

Actions

Information

8 responses

22 01 2011
eof737

I am grateful for life, love, family, friends and more… I am grateful to know you too Julie; my blogging buddy. 🙂
I’m on my vampire schedule today… even if I don’t show up as the posts arrive in my box, I will make the effort to catch up. Don’t count me out yet. 🙂
Have a great weekend!
Eliz

22 01 2011
Sheri Bennefeld

Beautiful! I belong to a “grateful group” a group 10 friends from all across the US. Everyday we begin an email distribution of what we are grateful for that day. Not only do we remind ourselves and each other to be grateful, but we get to share in the gratitude of others. Our lives are richer for it everyday. I highly recommend.

24 01 2011
1961 Girl

Hi Sheri.

What a lovely idea…and very inspirational. It is very humbling when we realise just how much we have to be grateful for in our lives and that we really are very blessed.

23 01 2011
jeanne

I love the idea of 50. It’s a great challenge. One I am looking forward to working on in the coming days. Thanks for sharing!

24 01 2011
1961 Girl

Hi Jeanne.

Sometimes I love the idea of being 50.
And other times, it scares the heck out of me!

Writing this blog is a great way to focus on what being 50 means to me…and to learn to treasure the memories I have built to date…whilst learning to be present in the moment and enjoying time spent with people I love. At the end of the day, this is what really counts.

28 01 2011
classyrose

I can’t come up with 50 at this moment, but #1 on my list would also be my beautiful daughter. She has brought such joy into my life. 🙂

29 01 2011
1961 Girl

My beautiful daughter is also my greatest joy. She has taught me so much about myself…and stops me taking myself too seriously. She is so laid back she just takes my latest creative ideas with a pinch of salt and a ‘yeah, yeah, mum’ attitude. Oh how I love her for her honesty and for keeping me grounded!!!

29 01 2011
classyrose

My daughter didn’t like the name of the blog or the url. It was because of her that I added the disclaimer to my blog about not being an angry person. It’s one of the most commented posts on my blog. Who would have known? 😉

Leave a Reply

