What do you say when you talk to yourself?

23 01 2011

It is understood that we have 4 thoughts every second.

Assuming that we sleep 8 hours each night; this equates to 240 thoughts per minute.

Or…14,400 thoughts per hour

Or…230,000 thoughts per day

Now, that is a lot of thinking.

AND OUR THOUGHTS BECOME THINGS!

No wonder most of us need some quiet time to mediate; or to practice a relaxation technique such as yoga to allow us to ‘get out of our heads’ and back into our bodies.

With so many thoughts constantly whirling around inside our heads, it is no surprise that we can feel overwhelmed at times and need to take some time out in order to ‘get our thoughts straight’.

Obviously we cannot monitor 230,000 thoughts on a daily basis – but we CAN monitor our feelings. These are a great indicator as to whether our current thought pattern is helping, or hindering, our sense of well-being.

If we are feeling tense, depressed, or irritable we need to STOP and examine the thoughts that are causing us to feel this way. We need to identify the initial thought, or thoughts, that started this train of thinking.

Thoughts are attracted to each other – like attracts like – and as we think one negative thought, another will follow at such a speed that we can be feeling on top of the world one moment, and down in the dumps the next. Our thoughts can produce both positive and negative emotions in us and it is possible to change our mood in an instant.

By changing our thoughts, we can change our emotions and therefore our experience of reality. Thoughts have their own vibrations and universal law dictates that we will attract other thoughts – both positive and negative – that vibrate in harmony with them.

As I sat down to write this post, I noticed that my shoulders were hunched up and tense causing me some pain and discomfort. I stopped writing to check out the cause of this tension and observed that my earlier train of thought had run something along these lines…

‘’I’ve got to get my post written before my friend arrives for the weekend;  I  don’t have a clue what to write about; I think I’ll just empty the rubbish bins first;  I must remember to water the plants as they are looking very sorry for themselves; My wireless dongle is playing up again – I must phone O2 to sort it out; It’s really cold in here this morning; I think I’ll make some tea before I sit down; If I can’t get my wireless connection sorted out I’ll be unable to connect to the internet and will lose contact with everyone; If that happens, I won’t be able to write my daily post and I’ll have failed in my challenge; That means I will let myself and everyone down; I know that I’m not going to be able to write this post in time and I will be stressed all weekend; Why did I sign up for this challenge in the first place?; I wish the sun was shining because the river would look much prettier and this is my friend’s first visit so I want it to be perfect for her; I wonder why my daughter hasn’t called?; I think I’d better call her before I sit down to write; I must remember to book the cinema for tomorrow evening; Maybe it is better if I cook lunch tomorrow rather than eating out; I hope I’ve got enough food for all of us; Why hasn’t my friend called to say that she is on her way?; I want to write and I want a life – how can I find a balance?; I feel guilty that I’ve been so busy I’ve not replied to my emails or messages for days; People will start thinking that I’m not interested; How I can extend my days any further when I rarely see my bed before 2am…………’

 

…and so the mental chatter went on – and on – and on!

These thoughts only took up a mere fraction of time and yet my negative thinking was having an immediate effect on my body and my current mood. Instead of feeling upbeat and positive, I had thought myself into a negative frame of mind and was suffering the results – both physically and mentally.

I knew that I had to change my thinking if I was going to change my reality, so I began thinking positive thoughts about the weekend by reminding myself that all is well and that we would have a lovely time regardless of how much I believe I need to control every last detail!

I know that I will either find the time to write; or I can choose to change the pattern and frequency of my posts, thereby giving myself the opportunity to produce better quality writing without the same time constraints. I can then choose to keep in more regular contact with people and to offer more support and encouragement to others.

 

We all have the power to create our own reality by the quality of our thoughts, so let’s use our amazing powers to create a reality beyond our wildest expectations.

It is also worth reminding ourselves that we are all connected to one universal mind……and that there is ‘no such thing as an original thought’!

So what do you say when you talk to yourself?

Day 23 – 365 Days of Celebration

Today I am going to celebrate by filling my mind with lots of lovely postive thoughts!

Add to FaceBookAdd to Twitter

Actions

Information

6 responses

23 01 2011
Jean Paul

Thanks for that Julie :-). Here’s one to start filling your mind with, first thing tomorrow:

Go to the mirror. Smile! Look yourself in the eye and say “You are worthwhile; you make a difference; and you’re gorgeous!” Then have a fabulous day!

24 01 2011
1961 Girl

Great advice…thanks JP.

Hope you are doing the same!

23 01 2011
ElizOF

We all go through the same self talk and then make decisions to move forward or stay in a rut/funk/pattern about whatever it is that we are mulling over… It’s all normal and the best part is when we push past it and get something accomplished. Which You have done! 🙂
Have a restful weekend!
Eliz

24 01 2011
1961 Girl

Having spent the weekend surrounded by loved ones and being totally focused in the moment, I found that the mental chatter slowed right down to the extent that I only heard the sounds around me rather than having to compete with the usual conversation going on in my head.

It was bliss ! x

23 01 2011
Marion Driessen

Interesting post Julie!

In stead of thinking about doing things, we ought to simply do them and stop procrastinating.

‘Ought to’… but it’s not that easy. I’m doing it right now: thinking about cleaning, my eportfolio, supermarket, the minutes of the last karate meeting pfff.
So thank you Julie, I will now stop fretting and start moving 🙂
Enjoy your Sunday.

24 01 2011
1961 Girl

Thanks Marion.

When we ‘think’ about it…it is amazing just how much time we spending procrasinating rather than ‘doing’. If I spent as much time doing, as I do thinking, I would get twice as much done as I nornally would do!

Hope you had a good weekend.
Julie

Leave a Reply

