Man’s Best Friend

1 02 2011

My Beloved Molly

“A man awoke to find himself dead one day. 

He knew he was dead because his old dog was there to greet him and the dog had died many years ago. 

And like the faithful companion he was, the dog had waited for the man to come.

“The two headed down the trail together which was fair but after a few hours they were getting tired and thirsty. 

And as their need for food and rest and shelter grew to the point where they could not go any further, a golden palace appeared on the horizon.

“They made the effort to go the extra distance though it wore them to the depths of their soul.  And when they reached the gates of the palace, there was a golden man in flowing white robes there to meet them.

“Where are we?” asked the man.

“Why, Heaven of course.” replied the robed figure.  Come on in, we’ve been expecting you. 

 

“But as the man went to enter, the dog stepped back and whimpered for the man to stay.  And the golden figure held out his hand and gently said, ‘I’m sorry.  You can enter.  But dogs are not allowed.’

“Tired and dejected, the man turned to his dog, then to the golden, figure.  ‘Sorry.  But I can’t leave my companion.  I’ll take my chances and see what we can find further along the trail.’

“And as they headed off, they were barely over the next hill when an old farm came in sight.  There was no gate and the farmer was covered in dirt from working the fields.

“’Excuse me please’, said the man.  ‘Would it be possible to get some water for my dog and myself?

“’Of course,’ said the farmer ‘Help yourself at the pump over there.  There should be a bowl for your friend.

“As the man and his dog quenched their thirst and rested, they asked the farmer what this place was.

“’This is Heaven’ replied the farmer matter-of-factly.

“’But there’s a big mansion down the road that says it’s Heaven?’ questioned the man.

“’That place?  That’s Hell.’ answered the farmer.

“’It didn’t seem like much of a Heaven when they wouldn’t let my dog in.’ the man confirmed.

“’Your dog wouldn’t go in even if invited.’ corrected the farmer.  ‘Dogs smell the sulphur and brimstone and won’t enter.’

“’Don’t you mind them using your name?’ questioned the man.

“’No.’ replied the farmer, “In fact, they help us weed out those who would leave their best friend behind.’”

Extract from ‘Shadow’ – by Bob Johnson © 2007

My thanks go to Papa Joe for introducing me to this beautiful story which has touched my heart. 

The full story can be read at http://www.quidmont.com/images/Shadow.doc

The story had originally been shared by Papa Joe with fellow blogger Seashell  in the hope of bringing some her some comfort over her recent loss of a beloved pet. Something that many of us have had to come to terms with at some point in our lives.

I have lost a number of pets over the years – most recently my beloved Yorkshire terrier Molly – who was loved by so

Molly and Me

many. I miss her still.

She was my faithful companion for a very long time and like the man in the story, I would never have left her behind in order to enter the gates of heaven.

The bonds of friendship – animal or human – are very strong and I for one would always chose the love of another over the promise of entry to paradise.

The power of love is so strong it can transcend death.

Shirka, another of my beloved dogs – a beautiful little white Maltese terrier who passed away a number of years ago – remains with me in spirit and I always sense when he jumps on my lap to bring me comfort at the times I need it the most.

Our best friends are never left behind. We carry them in our hearts enveloped in the warmth of our everlasting love.

Day 32 – 365 Days of Celebration

Today I am celebrating by remembering the love and loyalty each of my beloved pets brought into my life. You are still with me and I can feel you close to me now.

Actions

Information

32 responses

1 02 2011
Papa Joe

That’s a beautiful post Juls. Thank you. You’ve illustrated it beautifully and that’s a wonderful picture of you with Molly.

Our pets truly are special. They will always be in our heart.

– Papa Joe

1 02 2011
1961 Girl

Hi Papa Joe.

Glad you liked the photo with Molly. Sometimes I think it helps to connect with others by the sharing of personal photos – particularly to illustrate a story such as this one that had really touched my heart. Thank you so much for introducing me to it.

Juls

1 02 2011
barb19

That’s a beautiful story Juls, every time I read it, it never fails to pull at my heart strings – it is so powerful.
We lost our Penny (a Lhasa Apso) 18 months ago and I’m still not over it fully. But they never leave us, they are always with us in our hearts.
I love the photo of you and Molly – a special memory for you to treasure always.

1 02 2011
1961 Girl

Thank you Barb.

I love all dogs…large & small. And Lhasa Apso’s are so special as they are thought to house the spirits of Buddist Monks. My Llasa Apso (Barny) was certainly chilled out enough to merit that connection 🙂 Bless him xxx

Glad you liked the photo of Molly. She was a sweetheart – with a grin like Elvis!

1 02 2011
eof737

Our pets are a rare gift and they truly are psychic. I remember that story well and every time I read it, it puts a smile on my face and reminds me that all that glitters is not gold. The simplest acts are what take us to heaven. 🙂
Eliz

1 02 2011
1961 Girl

I agree that our pets are a rare gift…and they often choose us rather than the other way around 🙂

Great that you recognised the story. It was the first time I’d read it and it really touched all my emotional buttons!

Simple acts – beautiful thoughts – and living from heart…all take us to heaven.

Thanks Eliz x

1 02 2011
frizztext

a wonderful story, greeting from my cat too!
on-the-cupboard

1 02 2011
1961 Girl

Your cat looks gorgeous. Thanks so much for sharing. 🙂

1 02 2011
classyrose

Thanks for sharing both “The Shadow’ and your own story. I remember all the cats I’ve had over the years and they truly are magnificent creatures with uncanny abilities. 🙂

1 02 2011
1961 Girl

Thanks Rose.

Yes, The Shadow is a lovely story…and one that really touched my heart. I’m feeling all emotional again just recalling the words and the connection the writer had with his dog.

I also used to have cats and loved them equally to my dogs…but differently…if that makes any sense? I don’t have any pets at the moment and lving without having animals around doesn’t seem the same somehow. 🙂

1 02 2011
Quidmont

Hi Julie! And from what I see, Happy Birthday Year!

You’ve got a wonderful blog here. I’m so glad that Papa Joe told me about you. And I’m flattered about the way you illustrated part of the story I repeated for your post here.

That part wasn’t original and I see from the other comments that some people recognize it. I don’t know where it originated or from whom but if I ever find out I’ll be glad to credit. For now, I’m just happy it’s getting more air play. It is a wonderful story and I’m always amazed by how many people have not heard it.

When my father died, we put a picture of his favourite dog on the marker with his name. Even the funeral director had not heard of the story!

Please feel free to use anything on Quidmont, in whole or in part, any way you like. You’ve taken a few words that were not even an original story and made them spectacular!

I’m looking forward to checking out more of your posts as I catch up. Gotta agree that this is a great way to celebrate turning 50!

Happy Birthday!

– Bob (Quidmont) Johnston

1 02 2011
1961 Girl

Wow – what a wonderful comment!

Thank You – Thank You – Thank You!!!

I am delighted that you liked the post and for my interpretation of the story. I am so pleased that Papa Joe introduced me to the story and it was a real pleasure to write a blog around it. It will be great to hear who the original author turns out to be. It is lovely to see that other readers recognise the story. Who knows…maybe it’s time for it to see the light again!

How wonderful it must be to write a story that is shared with the world. Now that would be heaven on earth.

It is very kind of you to suggest using your stories from Quidmont. I shall be checking in on a regular basis and will of course give you full credit for any pieces I may use in the future.

As you may have gathered, I am very new to the world of blogging…and I am loving every minute! My blog is evolving on a weekly basis and it will be interesting to see where I am by the end of this year. Hopefully, at some point I will be able to escape from my laptop and get out to celebrate my 50th with the outside world!

Having said that, if I manage to complete this Postaday Challenge, it will be an amazing achievement and what a fantastic journey it will be.

Thanks for the birthday wishes – much appreciated!

Juls

2 02 2011
Quidmont

Thanks Juls. The wishes and offer are sincere. And I’d be thrilled if anyone stopped by Quidmont, the website or blog. But I have to admit that I’m pretty new to both. I’ve only been blogging since a bit before Christmas. Just long enough to learn of the WP challenge and jump in. And the web site is only a few months older. But I’ve been writing for years – just never anything major and never with enough time for it.

All of which is to say, by all means check in regularly if you want. But I have not written any original stories for some time now. And what writing time I do have seems to go for blogging.

Not that there’s anything wrong with that. 🙂

I must say too that it’s not only a wonderful picture of you with Molly, but it holds extra meaning for me. I have two dogs currently, (and 8 large parrots – but that’s another story), and the dogs are Molly and Jessie.

And it bears repeating, you’ve taken some simple words and built them into a truly beautiful post. I especially like your final line…

“Our best friends are never left behind. We carry them in our hearts enveloped in the warmth of our everlasting love.”

Wonderfuly done Julie. Thank you.

– Bob

2 02 2011
Quidmont

Thanks Juls. The wishes and offer are sincere. And I’d be thrilled if anyone stopped by Quidmont, the website or blog. But I have to admit that I’m pretty new to both. I’ve only been blogging since a bit before Christmas. Just long enough to learn of the WP challenge and jump in. And the web site is only a few months older. But I’ve been writing for years – just never anything major and never with enough time for it.

All of which is to say, by all means check in regularly if you want. But I have not written any original stories for some time now. And what writing time I do have seems to go for blogging.

Not that there’s anything wrong with that. 🙂

I must say too that it’s not only a wonderful picture of you with Molly, but it holds extra meaning for me. I have two dogs currently, (and 8 large parrots – but that’s another story), and the dogs are Molly and Jessie.

And it bears repeating, you’ve taken some simple words and built them into a truly beautiful post. I especially like your final line…

“Our best friends are never left behind. We carry them in our hearts enveloped in the warmth of our everlasting love.”

Wonderfully done Julie. Thank you.

– Bob

1 02 2011
Quidmont | JoeJim Gregory

[…] saw Julie’s post at https://1961girl.wordpress.com/2011/02/01/man%e2%80%99s-best-friend/ and thought it was wonderful.  I knew Bob would be thrilled so I mentioned it and sure enough he […]

1 02 2011
Marcia

Hi Juls, I’ve popped in to say how much I like your blog posts. This story is wonderful so thanks for sharing it. I don’t have any pets but I can appreciate the message, I love stories like this!

1 02 2011
1961 Girl

Hello Marcia.

Thank you for stopping by and for your lovely comments on my blog. It makes it so worthwhile when someone likes my writing. Sadly I no longer have any pets and when I read the original story it really touched my heart.

Hope to see you again!
Juls

2 02 2011
Edson Camara

That is a very beautiful story, thanks for share and sorry for your pet

2 02 2011
1961 Girl

Thank you Edson. Yes…she was a real sweetheart and I miss her loads. 😦

2 02 2011
psychodoodle

Beautiful story. Losing a pet is tragic, my first dog died when she was 8 months, she got knocked down by a bus, and i never quite understood why it had to happen. They say there is a reason for everything but I dont understand why a pup had to die.
Anyways, pets are indeed something we should be grateful for. They’re so different from each other, each with his/her own personality. My current dog’s a complete snob and i love her to bits.
Nice read.

2 02 2011
mountfordestate

Oh, that post made me cry a little. That is a beautiful story, and a wonderful dedication to your wee Molly. I have a yorkie myself, and here at Mountford we have a curly haired retriever. If something ever happened to those dogs…

A big hug to you for your lose and no one and nothing is lost if you still hold them in your heart.

2 02 2011
Tien

What a beautiful story Julie, thanks for sharing!
Dogs are indeed man’s best friend…. 🙂

3 02 2011
Mèo Lười Việt

Dog is best friend, I think so too. When everyone turned me down, my dog was always beside me. When I was frustrated, desperate and wanted to kill all the world, she comforted me with her heart-melt eyes. She went with me everywhere. She greeted my crazily when all others treated me like a dog. I love my dog the most. No one better than my dog except my Dad and my beloved!

3 02 2011
Mèo Lười Việt

You have filled your life with struggles, each day harder than the one before. You have sold your soul many times over and to lesser bidders than Satan. And you have suffered. You did this to put a roof over my head and get me that dog food and even the occasional rubber ball. And while you beat yourself up each day with regrets about your own life, you never once regretted me. I could see that.

I will miss you Shadow. But I will not forget you little girl. You will always be in my heart helping guide me to the good choices – even when they’re not easy.

I love you.

That’s the best thing Shadow can do. And she loves you too.

4 02 2011
1961 Girl

Thank you for reminding us of that lovely story. It made me cry when I first read it. Hope it touched you too. 🙂 Juls

14 02 2011
viviankirkfield

I stopped by way of Eliz’ Mega Blog Hop…and I’m so glad I did…a perfect story for me to read on Valentine’s Day…true friendship and love is definitely what the day and that story are all about.
I clicked to subscribe to your blog…but I guess I am already. 🙂 I guess I knew a good thing when I stopped by last time. 🙂

15 02 2011
1961 Girl

🙂 So glad you found your way back Vivian!

I shall look forward to getting to know you better. Glad you liked the story…I found it so touching and it brought back so many memories of my little dogs. True friendship and love is priceless :-0 Juls

15 02 2011
purrfectlee

Julie, I love, love, love that story and never get tired of hearing it. Your post is beautiful and truly captures how we feel about our furrbabies.

15 02 2011
1961 Girl

I love your expression of ‘furrbabies’…I will remember this one as it is so true. My ‘furrbabies’ meant the world to me and I still miss them every day. The story is beautiful one which I wanted to share. Good to know that you enjoyed reading it again. 🙂

15 02 2011
tbaoo

wow !! and woof !!

16 02 2011
eof737

Just wanted to stop by and say hello and have a great week!
Also, Thanks for your contribution to the bloghop! 😉
Elizabeth

16 02 2011
1961 Girl

Hi Eliz. Thanks for stopping by. Loved your post today…very thought provoking. Will post a comment in a minute. Great to be a part of your bloghop! Juls 🙂

Leave a Reply

