Riches of the World

2 02 2011

“In the world to come, each one of us will be called to account for all the good things God put on this earth, which we refused to enjoy” – Talmud

Wow…what freedom is contained within this message.

And how lovely to think that if we don’t learn to enjoy…there will be consequences!

What a gift!

It is a powerful reminder for us to take another look at all the things in our lives that we have come to take for granted.

We need to learn to embrace all the goodness in life – instead of merely giving it a cursory glance.

How easy it is to forget that we really are living in paradise as we look around with our eyes half shut at the beauty and abundance that surrounds us.

As I survey my little house, I am reminded of just how much I have in my life compared to that of my parents – and my grandparents before them.

It is so easy to forget that it wasn’t that long ago we didn’t have a television, let alone a colour flat screen TV – with a choice of so many channels. And central heating to keep us warm, instead of having to spend every winter shivering under layers of blankets.

In my life, I have been given so much…and appreciated so little.

From the simple – to the extravagant – we have so much these days…most of it rarely acknowledged – or appreciated. Instead of enjoying what we do have…we focus on what we don’t have…and our lives are poorer as a result.

“The riches of the world surround us – yet we cannot see”Susan Jeffers

As a society we have a habit of focusing on the bad news…and ignoring all that is wonderful about life. If bad news didn’t sell, our daily newspapers would disappear over night. (Hopefully to be replaced with a new breed of ‘good news’ newspapers!)

 And yet it is so easy it is to change our perceptions…and by doing so…to change our experiences – for the better.

Day 33 – 365 Days of Celebration

Today I intend to celebrate by fully opening my eyes and appreciating all the wonderful gifts that surround me.

Actions

Information

18 responses

2 02 2011
Redneckprincess

Amen my friend…nicely put and so true. 🙂

2 02 2011
Quidmont

Another beautiful and inspiring post Julie. Thank you.

I work from home and am at the computer most of the day. So I have a good computer and two, very good screens. (It’s easier and more fun than seeing the eye doctor any more than’s necessary. 😉 ) For much of the day, both screens are in use for the office. But come blogging time, I have the upper screen devoted to a spread sheet where I keep track of my posts and so on. (What can I say, I’m a techie.)

I mention it because I have one, very special page in this file. It greets me every day as I start work, or blogging. It’s my inspirational page and has a collection or art, poetry and quotations that I find worth keeping in front of me every day.

I’ve just added your opening quote from the Talmud here. It’s that good.

Thanks Julie. You’re truly inspirational.

– Bob

2 02 2011
barb19

Sometimes we have to sit back and truly open our eyes to appreciate what we have. Inspirational post Julie!

2 02 2011
eof737

And so it is… well put. 🙂
Eliz

2 02 2011
Marcia

Your words echo my thoughts entirely. I try to show appreciation for the gifts in my life by writing a gratitude list every day, it helps me acknowledge all the wonderful things and events that surround me. It makes me feel good to notice even the smallest thing and feeling good keeps me positive. Nice post!

2 02 2011
Quidmont

What a wonderful thought! I used to do something similar in the corporate world by jotting down some things in my appointment book every Friday. Just some things that I could look back on that I’d accomplished that week. When I started feeling like I wasn’t getting anywhere or accomplishing anything, I’d look back over a few Fridays and see that overall, I was making progress. Made for nicer weekends.

I don’t know why I never thought to extend that into my personal life. With today’s technology I could be recording them in my BlackBerry as they happen. But I still think there would be benefits to stopping to think about them once a day or even once a week, just to collect my happy thoughts.

Thanks for a great idea! 🙂

– Bob

2 02 2011
Marcia

That’s ok but I can’t take the credit for the idea, lots of people do it and it seems you used to do it yourself but regarding your work. The principle is still the same, it just makes us more conscious. It is a good idea too to look back over your notes, I do this with my piano students by getting them to play something from ages ago; only then do they realise they have been on a journey and made progress.

2 02 2011
Piglet in Portugal

Hi Julie,
When you stand back and reflect on what we have we are so lucky. My philosophy is that “you don’t need money to be happy you just need imagination”
PiP

2 02 2011
Seashell

A very inspirational post Julie. I constantly reflect on nature, the beauty of it and how thankful I am for it. But everyday things sometimes slip by my reflections. Thanks for reminding me.

2 02 2011
classyrose

Growing up in a large family, with my parents having two mortgages we always appreciated what we had. We were never wanting for anything, but we did not have the latest gadgets and it was some time before we had our first colour TV.

I brought that with me into adulthood and don’t buy the latest and greatest. I’m satisfied with what I have and pray that it doesn’t stop working, it’s all getting so old.

Material things come and go with the next passing fad, but beautiful thoughts and feelings are always with you – they never get old! 🙂

Be thankful for what you have; you’ll end up having more. If you concentrate on what you don’t have, you will never, ever have enough.
— Oprah Winfrey

2 02 2011
Quidmont

Very nicely said Rose. I still remember a similar thought that my father brought home one night. He’s seen it on a billboard over a local bank and mentioned it at the dinner table when I was still very young but old enoug to remember it still. It said, “The hardst place to live is just beyond your means.”.

Very true.

– Bob

2 02 2011
Lisa

Thanks for that pleasant reminder that there are so many wonderful things in life to be thankful for.

2 02 2011
Only Positive Statements Allowed « Woman Wielding Words

[…] hopes that it sparks my attitude in a better direction. Before I begin, though, I wanted to mention this post that I stumbled on yesterday because the picture of the author looked like a very dear friend of […]

2 02 2011
elizabeth.beckerley

Wise words – happiness is being content with “our lot”….whatever “our lot” is. xxx

3 02 2011
Roda

Hi Julie,
I loved your quotation of the Talmud especially as it resonates with the way I think too. I have just authored my first book and I give below some of the stuff I put on the back cover. You will find that it conveys the same message.

“Wouldn’t it make you happy to know that God tries to live and do and enjoy things through mankind. God says – I want feet to run my errands, tongues to speak and sing my mighty truths, eyes to see all beauty and hands to build my dreams, to play my divine harmonies, to paint my beautiful pictures. All that God is capable of seeks an expression through mankind. God wants those who appreciate beauty to be able to surround themselves in beauty. God wants that you discern his truths and have every opportunity to travel and talk about them. God wants those who love beautiful clothes to be beautifully clothed. God wants those of us who appreciate good food to be luxuriously fed.. God wants all these things for mankind because he himself enjoys and appreciates them. God wants to be able to express that it is he who wants to play, laugh, sing, enjoy beauty, proclaim truths, wear good clothes and eat good food.

The desire you feel for riches is God seeking to express himself in you. So ask for whatever your heart may desire. ”

Roda

3 02 2011
Mèo Lười Việt

Instead of enjoying what we do have…we focus on what we don’t have…and our lives are poorer as a result.

4 02 2011
1961 Girl

That is so true…and it the cause of so much heartbreak and misery. Thank you for your comment 🙂

7 02 2011
Papa Joe

Well worth celebrating Juls and only too often overlooked. Thanks for a well needed kick in the pants.

Happy Birthday Juls!

– Papa Joe

Leave a Reply

