Reason, Season, or Lifetime

10 02 2011

This poem is dedicated to all my Blogging Buddies.

I look forward to enjoying our friendship…for however long we chose to share our journey together.

It is great to have you on board!

People come into your life for a reason, a season or a lifetime.
When you figure out which one it is,
you will know what to do for each person.

When someone is in your life for a REASON,
it is usually to meet a need you have expressed.
They have come to assist you through a difficulty;
to provide you with guidance and support;
to aid you physically, emotionally or spiritually.
They may seem like a godsend, and they are.
They are there for the reason you need them to be.

Then, without any wrongdoing on your part or at an inconvenient time,
this person will say or do something to bring the relationship to an end.
Sometimes they die. Sometimes they walk away.
Sometimes they act up and force you to take a stand.
What we must realize is that our need has been met, our desire fulfilled; their work is done.
The prayer you sent up has been answered and now it is time to move on.

Some people come into your life for a SEASON,
because your turn has come to share, grow or learn.
They bring you an experience of peace or make you laugh.
They may teach you something you have never done.
They usually give you an unbelievable amount of joy.
Believe it. It is real. But only for a season.

LIFETIME relationships teach you lifetime lessons;
things you must build upon in order to have a solid emotional foundation.
Your job is to accept the lesson, love the person,
and put what you have learned to use in all other relationships and areas of your life.
It is said that love is blind but friendship is clairvoyant.

— Unknown

 

Day 41 – 365 Days of Celebration

Today I celebrate the priceless gift of friendship and give thanks for all the love and joy my friends have brought into my life. Thank you all.

Actions

Information

23 responses

10 02 2011
Stacey

This is a great poem..thank you

10 02 2011
Jean Paul

Now you’ve got me thinking about all my friends, and how our paths crossed, for how long, and what I’ve both given and gained…. Thanks, as ever, for provoking thoughts.

10 02 2011
postadaychallenge2011

Thank you for sharing this as It is posted on my facebook and I love your blog.

10 02 2011
barb19

I love this, and it makes us think.
For whatever reason we have entered each other’s lives, I am thankful for.

11 02 2011
1961 Girl

Hi Barb.

Yes it does make us think. (Although I was told last night that I spend far too much time thinking and maybe I could be spending more time doing!)

It is great to be sharing this experience together. Hope all is good with you. Juls:-)

10 02 2011
Piglet in Portugal

Hi Juls as an Expat, anyone who speaks English is a lifeline. I have learnt not to get to close to people (sadly) as people come and go. Mr P says I am a sucker and an easy shoulder to cry on. I dont agree with him, I listen or give them a hug. I don’t blame them for not being the lifelong buddy I am looking for that’s my problem. I have yet to find a kindred spirit of a friend. Someone who is there for me, as well, who will give me a shoulder to cry on and a hug without repeating the conversation to 3 other people. I’ve learned my lesson the hard way and in doing so I give more than I receive. I expect people to let me down, and they usually do. That may seem a negative comment but the Expat community can be shallow and incestuous so the shutters come down.

Great poem and hope you enjoyed your night off 🙂

11 02 2011
1961 Girl

Hi PiP,

I sense that you have met a number of kindred spirits via our blogging community…and I am sure that none of us would repeat any private conversations to anyone else…let alone 3 other people. Giving and receiving is an interesting subject as most of the time, we rarely get back from those we give to. Instead, it goes around and comes back to us often from a totally unexpected source.

I understand about the ex-pat lifestyle as I lived in Dubai for three years until a couple of years ago. It was a very fast lifestyle and it was quite a challenge to make more than just superficial friendships. However, I do have a few close friends still living out there whom I’m hoping to visit next month for a few days. Fortunately, most people in Dubai speak English and I can understand why you are drawn to others who speak your language.

Keep your chin up my lovely…expect the best…and you will receive the best.
Hugs, Juls 🙂

10 02 2011
mrsled

100% agree…. I have had quite a few ” here for a reason” and quite a few passing ”seasons” but what I can value the most is those who have stayed the course with me and are my most valuable lifelong friends. However there are friends that you meet in later life that have not been able to be there for a lifetime , some live on the other side of the world, and we have never actually met.However I would trust them with my life, because they are lifelong friends.

11 02 2011
1961 Girl

It is interesting when we look back and realise how many of those people whom we believed at the time would be in our lives for a lifetime…only stayed for a season. And others came and went very quickly…for a reason. Sometimes new friends become very close in such a short space of time and it feels like you’ve known them for a lifetime. Juls 🙂

10 02 2011
eof737

Thank you J!
Love the poem, love the friendships… need some rest! 😉
E

11 02 2011
1961 Girl

Rest…what’s rest??? 😉

When you manage to get some…will you please let me know what it is like!
Glad you liked the poem 🙂

10 02 2011
celsil1950

Thank you for the poem, Julie.
We are in your live for grow and learn something . We are in your life for a season… We are in your life for a reason.
Very pleasant.
Celina

11 02 2011
1961 Girl

I guess it isn’t too important how long we are in each other’s lives for, as long as we enjoy the time we have together. We may learn, grow…or just have fun together. Glad you liked it. Juls 🙂

10 02 2011
classyrose

Thank you Juls for a wonderful poem. 🙂

10 02 2011
Jenny Cutler

thanks for that Julie. very soothing to read. love jenny
quick Q
do people have to be a member of wordpress to comment and read? lots of people have said they can’t comment on my page?

10 02 2011
frizztext

greetings by
http://flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2011/02/01/empathy/
women as a leader of a social network 🙂

10 02 2011
Papa Joe

I’ve always loved that poem Juls. Thanks for reminding me.

– Papa Joe

10 02 2011
Papa Joe

Hi again Juls,

Your post got me a bit choked up. I really treasure my friends and my new friends here mean more to me than I can say. Cassie gave me a real gift getting me in here.

Didn’t mean to be so overwhelmed though that I forgot to say Happy Birthday. Or to give you a smile 🙂

You just really touched me is all. Thanks for a wonderful post Juls. And thanks for being a friend. 😀

– Papa Joe

11 02 2011
1961 Girl

Papa Joe,

You and my other Blogging Buddies, bring me so much joy and I love the contact we share we each other. I am touched that you consider me a friend – thank you.

Your lovely Cassie obviously sensed what your heart needed when she introduced you to the world of blogging. She is a special girl. 🙂

10 02 2011
Quidmont

Happy Birthday Juls!

Gotta agree with Papa here that this poem is very special to me as well. I’ve always loved it from the first time I heard it.

Thanks for reminding me too. 🙂

– Bob

11 02 2011
1961 Girl

Thanks Bob.

Yes, it is a very special poem and is a great remainder to enjoy the time we spent together as we never know whether our friendship will be for a reason, a season…or a lifetime.

Juls 🙂

10 02 2011
tbaoo

i’ve left a comment for no reason, well maybe one, my bride is also a 1961 girl 😉

11 02 2011
1961 Girl

There is always a reason…and I’m glad you’ve found one! Your lady is obviously very special if she is a 1961 Girl 🙂

Leave a Reply

