I Shall Wear Purple

12 02 2011

When I began writing this blog, I imagined that I would be checking in briefly each day just to say ‘hello’ to my new friends and to post a few short words about what I was planning to do that day in celebration of my 50th birthday year.

My posts were intended to just be a light hearted look at my life and loves…and so I’m still somewhat bemused at how they seem to have evolved into a sharing of my thoughts on life, love and the universe!

I had thought that once I’d got a basic understanding of the mechanics of how to write and publish a post, the rest would be a breeze and my blog would only take a few minutes a day to manage.

Wrong!

Over the past couple of months, I’ve come to love – and resent – my blog…in equal measure.

Much to my surprise, I love having the opportunity to share some of my deepest thoughts and reflections on life. My blog has become very special to me and I treasure it dearly.

However, I also resent the amount of time it takes to look after and nurture it in the way it deserves. Time that I had imagined I would be spending out and about having ‘fun’ and painting the town red every night…not tied to my laptop until 3am every morning!

In an effort to lighten my mood a little this evening, I came across a photo I had taken outside Windsor Castle last year, of a group of fun loving ladies, determined to enjoy every minute living out the words contained in the well known verse below.

The photo and this poem reminded me to lighten up a little and to stop taking myself so seriously. After all, this year is meant to be all about celebration and the more uplifting things in life.

It is lovely to be able to reflect on some of the lessons I’ve learnt along the way…but it is also a time to be having fun and letting my hair down once in a while.

So, thank you lovely ladies of Windsor, for putting a smile on my face and reminding me that we are never too young…or old…to put on our red hats and purple dresses for a day of light hearted fun and laughter!

 

WHEN I AM AN OLD WOMAN I SHALL WEAR PURPLE

With a red hat which doesn’t go, and doesn’t suit me.
And I shall spend my pension on brandy and summer gloves
And satin sandals, and say we’ve no money for butter.
I shall sit down on the pavement when I’m tired
And gobble up samples in shops and press alarm bells
And run my stick along the public railings
And make up for the sobriety of my youth.
I shall go out in my slippers in the rain
And pick the flowers in other people’s gardens
And learn to spit

You can wear terrible shirts and grow more fat
And eat three pounds of sausages at a go
Or only bread and pickle for a week
And hoard pens and pencils and beer mats and things in boxes

But now we must have clothes that keep us dry
And pay our rent and not swear in the street
And set a good example for the children.
We must have friends to dinner and read the papers.

But maybe I ought to practice a little now?
So people who know me are not too shocked and surprised
When suddenly I am old, and start to wear purple.

Jenny Joseph

Day 43 – 365 Days of Celebration

Today I am going to celebrate by inviting my inner child to lead the way by reminding me of how to have fun…just for the sake of it!

Actions

Information

42 responses

12 02 2011
wordangell

Lovely post and one I feel we can all relate too. ps I do wear purple but wearing a hat? My kids say I look like Benny from crossroads. so will leave hats to those that look good in them meanwhile I can be outrageous is many other ways lol M

12 02 2011
1961 Girl

I’m sure that there are lots of different ways that you express your fun side…the red hat is optional! The important thing is to remember to let your hair down and have some fun.
Juls 🙂

12 02 2011
Redneckprincess

Hehehehe…sweet 🙂

12 02 2011
1961 Girl

They were a fun group of ladies and really knew how to have a good time! 🙂

12 02 2011
classyrose

Hi Juls, this is the second post I’ve read this week on the colour Purple. I used to have a substitute teacher quite often and she dressed in purple from head to toe. Everything was purple, eyeshadow, lipstick, you name it. One day she surprised us and came all dressed in blue! But she never wore a red hat.

You’re lightening up so don’t worry, your blog is just having some growing pains. I’m sure you will see things settle down soon and it won’t need as much nurturing. 🙂

12 02 2011
1961 Girl

Hi Rose. What was the other purple blog about…was it a similar subject? Maybe we could make it a purple week of celebration! I wonder what inspired your teacher to change from purple to blue…

I know I’m going on a bit too much about the blogging commitment. Maybe it is best I change the subject and ‘put up or shut up’! If it all gets too much, I’ll just change over to Postaweek and have done with it. Otherwise I’ll be driving everyone nuts with my growing pains!

Hope you’re feeling better xxx 🙂

12 02 2011
classyrose

Thanks Juls, I’m feeling much better tonight. I’m including the link to the other post.

I have no idea why the teacher did it, but it was mostly baby blue and she was the talk of the school that day. For years all she wore was purple.

Don’t worry about talking about the blogging for now, most of us are experiencing the same pains. After all we’re all still here reading your beautiful writing. 🙂

http://mylifeisabook.wordpress.com/2011/02/08/the-colour-purple/

12 02 2011
1961 Girl

Hi Rose. I’m so pleased you are feeling better. I hope you’ve managed to get some time for yourself over the past few days.

Baby blue is quite a leap from purple! I wonder what brought on the transformation? Thanks for posting the link to the blog. I love the image she portrays of the mysterious and exciting woman in purple. I would like to meet her, she sounds intriguing…
Big hugs,
Juls x 🙂

12 02 2011
baonkobento

OMG That is such a precious picture! I used to be afraid of growing old; in fact, I couldn’t envision myself past 28, and determined at 14 years old that I would die at 28 (I was an absolute emo!). Now that I have a daughter and I’m about to turn 30 this year, life couldn’t be more precious and now I’m comfortable with the idea of growing old with rich memories. THIS, though, puts a whole new perspective of growing old! I would LOVE to be one of these women! And the poem was just delicious! Thanks for sharing Juls!

12 02 2011
Quidmont

Happy Birthday Juls!

I love the verse. How you got the picture to match is a small miracle. Birthday magic I guess. 🙂

– Bob

12 02 2011
1961 Girl

Thanks Bob.

I first read this poem years ago and when I saw the ladies lined up on the bench outside the castle, I just had to take some photos as they were such a brilliant representation of living the dream! 🙂

12 02 2011
elizabeth.beckerley

Can just imagine me and you, sitting outside that cafe in Windsor, drinking coffee and wearing purple …clashing shades of course. xxx

12 02 2011
1961 Girl

Well my lovely friend…be careful what you wish for! If I remember correctly, you will be in Windsor next month so I suggest that you pack something in purple and dig out a red hat from somewhere and I’ll meet you for coffee (wearing a clashing shade of purple of course) at that cafe in Windsor!!! Hugs xxx 🙂

12 02 2011
nrhatch

Love the post, the poem, and the pic!

Along the same lines: http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2010/06/28/advice-from-erma/

Enjoy the journey!

13 02 2011
1961 Girl

Thanks for the link…what a lovely poem…and a great blog! Look forward to catching up with your posts. Juls 🙂

12 02 2011
mrsled

Hi Julie…I could be one of those ladies. I am now 71/72 but as yet not an OLD lady. I would wear red and purple together and have done in the past. When I was a lot younger, 50, I think I wore the most outrageous clothes simply because I wanted to be different. Sometimes I wore no shoes at all and it was freedom in the strongest sense.
I agree with you about blogging…it does take hours.. and then if I have finished earlier than expect I go and do another. It is compelling but what a way to communicate.
I do hope that you will feel better soon. I send my love and best wishes

13 02 2011
1961 Girl

You will never be an OLD lady when you have such a young outlook. I love the idea of you wearing your your outrageous clothes and wandering around barefoot. I can just sense the feeling of freedom that walking barefoot through the grass would bring. And good on you to carry on and write another post when you’ve finished the first one. All I want to do when I’ve finished my post and caught up with my Blogging Buddies is to collapse into bed! BEst wishes, Juls 🙂

12 02 2011
eof737

And I shall wear red with yellow confetti sprinkled all over my head… 🙂
What an upbeat shot! Love it. ✽ˆ◡ˆ♥
Eliz

13 02 2011
1961 Girl

Red with yellow confetti…that sounds like fun Eliz! Be sure to post the photos for us all to see. Juls 🙂

12 02 2011
Marion Driessen

These ladies are radiating pure joy in life, wonderful picture Juls 😀

I agree it can be hard to find a true balance in life. Like you I absolutely LOVE to blog, both on my English and my Dutch blog. But it is also absorbing a lot of time, early in the morning and then after work at night. And there are many other things to do.

Writing these days seems to be pouring inspiration into blog posts. But I also need time to work on other stories that are in my head and part on a private blog. Perhaps we should plan two days a week posting a magical photo, or a poem or quote. Investing less time in our blog twice a week, to have more time for other things. Like wearing purple.

There are just not enough hours in a day! Santa, can we have more hours in a day please? With a PURPLE ribbon around it? 😉

13 02 2011
1961 Girl

Hi Marion.

Will you please let me know when Santa delivers your present of a few extra hours in the day because I’d like to put in my order for a few more! I don’t know how you are managing to fit in all your writing with working as well. It is a huge commitment and I’m spending a minimum of 6 hours a day on the whole blogging process. I wish I knew what the answer to minimising the time involved…unless we revert to Postaweek instead of Postaday. I like your idea of just posting a photo or quote from time to time to keep the challenge going and to relieve some of the time pressure. Any further ideas much appreciated. Juls 🙂

13 02 2011
Marion Driessen

Walking outside and enjoying the spring sun tends to give a lot of inspiration. We need this time away from the computer to be able to reload, to feel, to contemplate. Perhaps then the writing comes easier. And less perfectionism is also an idea. BIG GRIN. Now THAT would be a challenge too!
When I think of something new, I’ll let you know Juls 🙂

13 02 2011
1961 Girl

Hi Marion. If it ever stops raining here, I will certainly be taking your advice and getting myself outside for a walk to clear my head. Perfectionism…now that’s a challenge to overcome! Thanks for the suggestions and keep up your wonderful posts z 🙂

12 02 2011
Sarah

Beautiful blog and fantastic photo – thank you, Julie

13 02 2011
1961 Girl

Hi Sarah.

Thanks for stopping by to say ‘hello’. Glad you liked the post and the photo. I guess that sorts out the colours for my birthday outfit this year! Best wishes – Juls 🙂

12 02 2011
13 02 2011
1961 Girl

Thanks for the link to the hat photos. There are some great and inventive examples there. Think I’ll stick to my red one though! 🙂

12 02 2011
Marcia

Great post as ever Juls! I think you need to strike a balance somewhere so you aren’t up til the early hours or the thing you love will become a chore. There’s always quality in your writing and your blogs have a theme such as a poem, a quote and pictures and they always fit together perfectly. You can have the best of both worlds if you do each in moderation, I’m sure you’ll find a way to maintain your usual high standard of work and still find time to let your hair down.

13 02 2011
1961 Girl

Thank you Marcia. As always, your comments have managed to touch me. How do you do this???

I would love to find a way to make managing the process a lot simplier and quicker. I always start with good intentions of writing a short piece…and then get carried away! Then I have to find the quotes or poems to complement the post…unless I’ve started with these, which does sometimes happen. I will read something and it will spark an idea for a post. If it wasn’t for the time factor, I would be loving everything about blogging.

If I can’t get on top of it soon, I may just change to Postaweek and have done with it! Juls 🙂

12 02 2011
Seashell

Great post, poem, and photo Juls. It looks like you ran into a Red Hat Society group. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Red_Hat_Society I’ve seen and talked to some of these society members and they are a fun, wonderful bunch of ladies. As I’ve also reached 50 a few months ago, I’ve been thinking it might be an interesting thing to join.
Have a FUN birthday (year)!
~ shell

13 02 2011
1961 Girl

Hi Shell.

Thanks for the link. I’ve just checked it out and it seems that they have Red Hat Society groups in 25 different countries so I will check out where the ones in the UK are. I wonder if the ladies I photographed are part of that group…

So, how does it feel to be 50…is it something I should be looking forward to? To be honest, I still feel 25…it is only my reflection in the mirror that reminds me that I no longer am 😦

Thanks for the birthday wishes. I hope you had a fun year of celebration last year.
Juls 🙂

12 02 2011
mrsled

Hi Julie ..just wanted to say thank you..for taking the time to look at my blog. I feel highly honoured.

13 02 2011
1961 Girl

Hello again.

I always try to visit people if they have been kind enough to take the time to visit my blog. It is very much a community here and it is lovely to be able to support each other. Juls 🙂

12 02 2011
Papa Joe

I love that verse Juls. Wonder how it would be for me? 😉

Happy Birthday!

– Papa Joe

13 02 2011
1961 Girl

Well – now we know how it would be for you Papa Joe…http://joejimgregory.wordpress.com/2011/02/12/i-shall-wear-sweatpants/

What a brilliant and funny response you have come up with…I love it…thank you!

And thanks for the birthday wishes 🙂

12 02 2011
BabyBird

Hehe I love the photo too! 🙂
You’re right.. it’s absolutely a love/hate relationship with my blog too.. like you, I’ve come to LOVE a place where I can just write and share as much or as little as I want.. but it takes time to even think about what to write every day, and then to compose it all nicely into the blog… 🙂

13 02 2011
1961 Girl

So glad you liked the post. I had great fun taking the photos of the ladies. They were having a wonderful time and were a pleasure to watch 🙂

Well done for sticking with the daily blogging. I’ve yet to find a less time consuming way to manage the blog and it still takes me 5-6 hours a day to write, edit, publish and keep up with my Blogging Buddies. I do love it though! 🙂

12 02 2011
I Shall Wear Sweatpants | JoeJim Gregory

[…] a poem called “When I Am An Old Woman I Shall Wear Purple”.  You can see her post at https://1961girl.wordpress.com/2011/02/12/i-shall-wear-purple/.  It got me wondering how that would work for old farts like me.  So I submit for your approval […]

12 02 2011
Piglet in Portugal

When I grow old I am going to have my hair restyled; spikey with cerise pink highlights! Should we grow old gracefully or disgracefully?
PiP

13 02 2011
1961 Girl

Well PiP – I don’t know about waiting until I get any older…I plan to have some purple extensions put into my hair in time for my birthday celebrations…and I believe we should grow old disgracefully – it’s much more fun than way. We only have to look to Papa Joe for guidence on that score!
Juls x 🙂

13 02 2011
Papa Joe

😀

I’m nothing if not an example of how not to do it. 😀

I’m also jelous that you both have hair to spike and put extensions in. 😉

Enjoy the benefits of our years. We’ve earned ’em.

– Papa Joe

14 02 2011
I Shall Wear Sweatpants « 1961 Girl

[…] my recent post ‘I Shall Wear Purple’, I quoted a well know verse by Jenny Joseph called, ‘When I Am an Old Woman I Shall Wear […]

Leave a Reply

