I Shall Wear Sweatpants

14 02 2011

In my recent post ‘I Shall Wear Purple’, I quoted a well known verse by Jenny Joseph called, ‘When I Am an Old Woman I Shall Wear Purple’.

When fellow Blogging Buddy, Papa Joe, read the post he responded with a  verse written from his own perspective.

I loved it so much that I asked him if I could re-post it on my blog to share with anyone who may have missed it the first time around. Enjoy!

When I Am An Old Man I Shall Wear Sweatpants

With a T-shirt only partly tucked in, and stains more than vaguely visible.

And I shall spend my pension on coffee and donuts with friends in restaurants where they don’t care how I look.

I shall shave when I want to and shop for groceries regardless of the stubble.

I will take long walks and peer in all the windows making the shop keepers nervous.

“Will he come in?!” they’ll think.  And just to make them sweat I’ll reach for the door before deciding to move along.

I will pat strange dogs and sit with them on the sidewalk until their owners come out of the store. 

I will tell overly long stories and fain deafness when someone tries to interrupt. 

I will eat Macaroni and Cheese – with Hot Dogs for a treat, not because I can’t afford differently.  Because I CAN.

I will make huge pots of macaroni and re-heat meals until the little green spots on the lot start to move on their own. 

I will live and love and most of all remember.  Remember when I looked forward to the freedom of being old. 

And I will regret having spent my youth looking forward to retirement only to learn that in retirement I miss my youth.

I think I’ll bring out the youthful me to play for a day.  Eat chili with extra red-hot peppers.  Stay up ’till 3:00 in the morning and pretend I have to get up the next day.  Drink like it was still a new and novel privilege.  And glory in the heartburn and acid reflux for the next three days.

Yes, when I am old, I will do many things.  I probably just won’t remember them.  😉

Papa Joe

Day 45 – 365 Days of Celebration

I will celebrating this Valentine’s Day by raising a glass – or two – to all the people I love…to say thank you for all the joy you bring into my life. I am truly blessed.

Actions

Information

35 responses

14 02 2011
Jean Paul

Cheers!
We love you too 🙂

14 02 2011
1961 Girl

Thanks JP…Happy Valentine’s Day! Juls :-0

14 02 2011
Quidmont

Happy Birthday Juls! And Happy Valentine’s day!!

When I saw Papa Joe’s post, I didn’t comment there. No need since we see each other all the time. But I do have to say that he’s captured the Old Man version of this verse perfectly. He describes any number of old guys I see wandering around various places we frequent.

Thanks for sharing it here.

Happy Birthday Juls!

– Bob

14 02 2011
1961 Girl

Happy Valentine’s day to you too!

Papa Joe’s verse is great…I just had to share it! And you have the inside info…and know how accurate (or otherwise…as I suspect) that the cartoon is from the ‘real’ Papa Joe!

Take care. Juls 🙂

14 02 2011
Quidmont

Happy Birthday Juls! And while the day lasts, Happy Valentine’s day too!

As I mentioned, back at work people used to think Papa Joe and I were brothers. We do look a lot alike and have a lot of the same views. I often feel like I’m looking in a mirror when we’re seeing each other.

So I think that either of us would be flattered if we had the physique of your picture. Much too physically fit for either of us. But you’d be hard pressed to catch either of us with a constant frown like your picture has.

You’ve seen my YouTube debut. You’ve got to admit that I look more like my Mr. Potato Head Gravatar than a body builder. 🙂

I think Papa Joe will be pleased. 🙂

Happy Birthday Juls!

– Bob

14 02 2011
1961 Girl

Happy Valentine’s Day to you too Bob!

I’ve yet to hear from Papa Joe so I hope he’s not too upset with the cartoon of the ‘old man in sweatpants’! I wanted one with a smiley face…but couldn’t find one! I will replace it with a photo of a smiling geratric body builder if he would prefer!!!

Yes…I’ve seen your YouTube debut. Now you’ve gone ‘public’, everyone will want a peek! Wait for the barrage of requests!

Thanks again for the daily birthday wishes.
Juls 🙂

14 02 2011
Quidmont

Hi Juls! And Happy Birthday!

Don’t worry about Papa Joe. I had coffee with him today and I know he was thrilled with your post and picture. But he was having trouble with his internet so he’s probably out with his Toronto friends kicking about. I’m sure you’ll here back.

Believe me, he’s smitten with you Juls. I don’t think there’s anything you could do to offend him. 🙂

Happy Birthday Juls! And since it’s still Valentine’s Day here … Happy Valentine’s Day!

– Bob

15 02 2011
1961 Girl

That’s a relief! I was beginning to think he didn’t love me any more 😮

Thanks for the daily birthday wishes. Your support and congratuations are really adding to my year of celebration. Thank you Bob 🙂

And Happy Valentine’s Day to you too 🙂

15 02 2011
Quidmont

Have no fear Juls. When I didn’t see Papa Joe online all day I checked in to see if he was okay. All’s fine and he says to pass on a “hello” if I’m here. He’s happily enjoying his internet down time.

For me, losing the net would be like losing my left arm. Papa Joe still has enough of a foot in the old world that it’s not a problem for him. Gotta admire that. 🙂

Happy Birthday Juls! And I know it’s past the time where you are but not here yet, so Happy Valentines Day!

– Bob

14 02 2011
wordangell

Bless you , are you sure this isn’t my other half? gulp, that must mean he’s old. lol. Brilliant post and Bob’s site is great too, thank you. xxx

14 02 2011
1961 Girl

I’m sure I saw a photo of your other half on your blog…and he is much more handsome and youthful! I just love Papa Joe’s verse and wanted to share it. Glad you liked Quidmont’s site. I’m sure he will be delighted! Juls 🙂

14 02 2011
classyrose

Hi Juls, I love the cartoon. Is that how you see Papa Joe? 🙂

14 02 2011
1961 Girl

Hi Rose. It isn’t quite how I see Papa Joe…the face isn’t friendly enough for a start! But it was the only one I could find of a guy wearing sweat pants! I’m waiting to see whether Papa Joe approves…and if not, I will replace immediately with an image of doughnuts, or coffee…or old men loitering in shop windows! 😮

14 02 2011
baonkobento

Happy valentines day!

I love this Old Man version a lot! It emphasizes my new enthusiasm of growing old. Thanks for sharing!

14 02 2011
1961 Girl

Happy Valentine’s Day to you too!

I love this Old Man version as well. Papa Joe is a real star. I just love his blog and his down-to-earth wisdom. 🙂

14 02 2011
Patrecia aaka Mrsled

I loved that poem by papa Joe. having already reached the age of wearing anything that I want to and when and how I want to, my greatest freedom in being old is the ability to say what I like and sod the result… Free Speech to all Old Age Pensioners…Up the banner …Fly the flag!!!

Have a lovely day 1961girl and if you ever do get the chance do drop me a line. I would love to hear from you, even if you are a young spring chicken of 50 !!!

14 02 2011
1961 Girl

Absolutely! Free speech to all Old Age Pensioners. It’s good to hear the chaps saying their bit because these verses are usually written by old women! Equality for all!!! I also wear whatever I like. In fact, I have no idea what fashion is doing these days, until my daughter comes to visit and up-date me with what’s happening in the ‘outside’ world!

This young spring chicken will be sure to drop you a line…
Juls 🙂

14 02 2011
frizztext

Happy Valentines Day
by my honeymooners,
they know what LOVE means:
http://flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2011/02/12/weekly-photo-challenge-curiosity/

14 02 2011
1961 Girl

Great photo…thanks 🙂

14 02 2011
Jenny Cutler

I will save this too – thanks Julie

14 02 2011
1961 Girl

Glad you liked it Jenny. 🙂

14 02 2011
therunninggarlic

Now that’s a classic…I think I will stop by and visit Papa Joe. Thanks for sharing and Happy Valentine’s Day!
Debbie 🙂

14 02 2011
1961 Girl

Happy Vaentine’s Day to you too Debbie! So glad you liked Papa Joe’s post…I think it’s great as well. Juls x 🙂

14 02 2011
The Great Chocolate Cake Robber

I fully subscribe to the lifestyle of Papa Joe, the Anglo Saxon version in my case, I am that man inspecting building sites to see if I can help and if it weren’t for my addiction to pies would don the the leather pants beneath the dressing gown and the Rastafarian bonnet and shuffle down to Costa Coffee. Peering over the glasses to read the newspaper like some extravagant ageing actor in between roles with a coffee and a cigarette. Even if you have been eccentric since birth it now seems entirely natural, in fact I believe the state should pay eccentricity benefit. I also have become a campaigner for gentlemanly behaviour opening doors for lasses, giving up seats on public transport for less sprightly old sods of my era and the use of please and thank you. Courtesy costs little, except in 5-Star hotels – Reasons to be servile – Part 2, perhaps I’ve got the Ian Dury and the Blockheads lyric wrong! Plus I have this burning desire to learn which I never had when I was an arrogant young blade who thought he knew and could do everything. I now feel I can help the young, who may initially shy away from my Coco the Clown shrunken sweat pants (trackie bottoms) with the dubious tissue emerging from base of the leg via the hole in the pocket, topping olive and beige hiking boots and topped in turn by bright red climbing wear (for the stairs you understand!) – Good fashion call I reckon. However, making people laugh is a great therapy and laugh they do as they chat away inhibitions frozen. It is de rigeur these days to have a mad antique friend. Some young chap told me they have banned dogs from barking in New York, how do they silence them one asks, the sales of duct tape must be on a roll, I can’t believe I just wrote that. But then again I can, do not confuse me with a shy young violet for I am a wild old old apostle rolling with happy abandon in the cow pats of freedom. Now there’s a good name for a band!

14 02 2011
1961 Girl

Thanks Mac.

This is a post on it’s own!!!

I’m sure you could take the basis of this and turn into a verse of your own. Please send me the finished piece and I’ll post it for you! I’m delighted that Papa Joe’s verse got your creative juices flowing. Juls 🙂

14 02 2011
frizztext

and acid reflux for the next three days… yes, for sure, after alcohol :-), I know, I’m 65…

14 02 2011
Marcia

I love a rebel. I shall stop by and post something on his page. Thanks for sharing this Juls!

14 02 2011
Jenny Cutler

does this show my blog? thanks julie

14 02 2011
1961 Girl

Hi Jenny.

No – your blog still doesn’t show up! Juls 🙂

14 02 2011
Seashell

I loved this when Papa Joe posted it and loved reading it again here. Both poems, his and purple, make me smile!

Happy Valentine’s Day & Happy Birthday Year!
~ shell

14 02 2011
1961 Girl

Hi Shell…and Happy Valentine’s Day to you too! Thanks for the birthday wishes 🙂

Yes…both poems are great. I wonder whether Papa Joe’s will become as famous?
Juls 🙂

14 02 2011
eof737

Papa Joe wrote a very funny piece there and the cartoon shot is priceless. Excellent!
✿♡✿ Happy Valentine’s Day-Mega Blog Hop is on✿♡✿
Elizabeth

15 02 2011
1961 Girl

Great to be part of your Mega Blog Hop Eliz. Thanks so much for pulling us all together. Happy Valentine’s Day to you too. Juls 🙂

16 02 2011
Papa Joe

Hi Juls! And Happy Birthday! (Should that be belated Happy Birthday since I wasn’t here the day you posted?!?)

Just stopping by to confirm right here on your post that I whole heartedly approve of your cartoon of me. In fact, if anything it’s flattering. I don’t think I’ve had a body that good since … well … my memory’s going so I may never have looked that good. 🙂

Thanks for doing me the honour of posting my words here Juls! You really make my old heart sing. 🙂

Happy Birthday!

– Papa Joe

16 02 2011
1961 Girl

I’m so glad you took the cartoon in the spirit it was intended. I’m sure you keep yourself fit and active…all that wandering around town looking in store windows must burn off a few calories!

I loved your verse Papa Joe, and intend sharing it with a lot more people!

Keep those words flowing. Juls 😮

Leave a Reply

