Child’s Play

17 02 2011

Over the past couple of days I’ve talked about connecting with my ‘inner child’ and today is the day I have promised that I would let her out to play.

When I awoke this morning, I asked my ‘child’ what she would like to do today.

Her answer was that she just wanted to ‘go with the flow’ – to chill – and take things easy for a change.

She said that she wanted my undivided attention and that I was to ignore the ‘chattering gremlin’ who sits on my shoulder all day long, shouting instructions about what I ‘should’ be doing if I want to be…

•          Loved

•          Respected

•          Noticed

•          Fulfilled

•          Accepted

She knows that I am constantly bombarded by his never ending fear based demands – all adding constant pressure to my days and restlessness to my nights. With her encouragement, it feels great to tell him to ‘shut up’ and take the day off – leaving us free to enjoy our day together without his constant interruptions.

Being with my ‘inner child’ is like spending time with a new friend. Step by tiny step – she is taking me by the hand and leading me back to myself. A beautiful friendship is beginning to develop as we begin to get to know and understand each other.

This morning she has taken me to a ‘flow yoga’ class – because she loves the freedom of movement and the sense of well-being it brings. She also likes listening to the inspirational teacher who makes her smile and encourages her to feel good about herself.

Leading me back home she encourages me to put on a long forgotten CD called ‘Charka Dancing’ – buried at the bottom of the music pile. Turning it up to full volume we are dancing together around the house and suddenly housework seems like a fun thing to do!

Food is next on her list and she encourages me to raid the fridge for a ‘ready, steady, cook’ challenge of creating a colourful and healthy meal out of the bits and pieces of food found lurking in farthest recesses of the (almost) empty shelves.

Needing a little rest after helping to prepare our lunch, she sits me down and shows me how to focus on enjoying a TV programme without trying to do half a dozen other tasks at the same time.

Having recharged her batteries, she wants to go back out to play and leads me down to the riverbank to say ‘hello’ to the swans – my beautiful ‘Angels of the River’.

Sitting on the steps of the house – we hold hands to watch the sun go down and together we offer our grateful thanks to the universe for giving us such a beautiful day to spend together.

Day 48 – 365 Days of Celebration

Today I am celebrating the delights of becoming reacquainted with my inner child…my best friend…it is so good to meet you again.

Actions

Information

35 responses

17 02 2011
Piglet in Portugal

Hi Juls,

Sounds like you are beginning to find inner peace 🙂
PIPx

18 02 2011
1961 Girl

Hi Pip.

I’m getting there – slowly. One step forward and all that stuff…
Juls 🙂

17 02 2011
wordangell

I remember finding my inner child on a beach… A long forgotten, blocked out memory. What a special blog entry. we all need to know our inner child, especially to go back and give him/her the things that are needed. Lovely post. x

18 02 2011
1961 Girl

Thanks Marie. Connecting with our inner child can be a very powerful process as you have experienced yourself. Many of our hidden secrets have been locked away with our inner child and by connecting with these again we can free ourselves from some of the burdens and guilt of the past. Glad you liked the post x 🙂

17 02 2011
Redneckprincess

You made me cry….xoxoxo….

18 02 2011
1961 Girl

Aaah…bless you Princess. Hope your tears are all dried up now x 🙂

17 02 2011
Celina Silva Pereira

Yes, Julie.
It’s a great therapy to get carried away at times by our inner child.
Children are true, free and at the same time-dependent care, affection and care.
We need to give us a time to simply live, contemplating nature, happy and healthy to fantasize, dream, give and receive affection.
Thanks for the new post.
Celina

18 02 2011
1961 Girl

What a lovely way of putting it Celina – thank you. If we can learn to embrace the qualities of a child, our lives would be so much richer as a result. Enjoy your time with your inner child. Juls 🙂

17 02 2011
liz beckerley

Sounds like you had a lovely chilled out day. xxx

18 02 2011
1961 Girl

It was a beautiful day Liz – thank you x 🙂

17 02 2011
literaryescape

Juls,

I loved this post. I really need to schedule a day to be without schedules and let my own inner child come out and play. I would love to just go with the flow and relax with for a change. I think we all spend too much time stressing. Thanks for the inspiring words.

– Michelle

18 02 2011
1961 Girl

Michelle,

As one of the world’s greatest stressers and worriers (thanks mum for passing on the ‘worry’ gene), if we don’t take some time out and “go with the flow” occasionally, we will just make ourselves tired and sick from the overload. A day without deadlines is a day to do what your heart (and your inner child) wants to do. Juls 🙂

17 02 2011
nrhatch

This is an AWESOME post.

I had a “go with the flow” day today too. So wonderful ~ an art demo, painting a picture, a lecture on Darwin, pizza and game night with the neighbors.

18 02 2011
1961 Girl

And you followed up with an AWESOME post yourself today – thank you.

We need to give ourselves a “go with the flow” every so often and let our hair down. It does the soul a world of good. 🙂

17 02 2011
barb19

What a wonderful day you spent with your “inner child” – it sounded like the perfect day! And much needed I think.
We should all do this from time to time – take time out and smell the coffee. Great post, and very inspiring.

18 02 2011
1961 Girl

Yes…it was a perfect day Barb. And one that I would like to repeat more often as it was such an amazing experience. It feels good to let someone else lead the way – even if some folks think I’m crazy talking and listening to my inner child. When we remember that our child is always there, along with our guardian angels, we can never truly be alone. Juls 🙂

17 02 2011
frizztext

it is important to find the INNER CHILD daily. it’s like digging a well of 50 meters depth daily. but the bridge to childhood leads into a land of treasure …
http://flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2011/01/06/childhood/

18 02 2011
1961 Girl

What a beautiful way of looking at the experience…and so true. Thank you for sharing that thought. Juls 🙂

17 02 2011
Jenny Cutler

What a delightful idea. I shall have a go myself and see how the day works out. Sometime…..
thanks, Julie

18 02 2011
1961 Girl

Hi Jenny. Please write a post about your day with your ‘inner child’. I would love to find out how you get on. It really is an amazing experience. Juls 🙂

17 02 2011
liannouwen

Sounds like you had the best day! I guess I should try this as well some time 🙂

18 02 2011
1961 Girl

Thank you – yes…it was a great day…one of the best for a long time! Good to meet you and thanks for stopping by to say ‘hello’. 🙂

17 02 2011
Seashell

Oh Juls, that sounds like such a wonderful day! I am so glad that your “best friend” took the lead and that she is helping you find peace and tranquility.

~ shell

18 02 2011
1961 Girl

Hi Shell. Yes, it was a wonderful day and one to remember. Sometimes it feels good to hand over the lead to someone else…and when that someone is your ‘inner child’, you never know where she may lead! Juls 🙂

17 02 2011
classyrose

Such a beautiful story. I could picture you doing all those things, having seen the photos of your home and the river. It must have been a wonderful day for you. 🙂

18 02 2011
1961 Girl

Thank you Rose. Yes, it was a lovely relaxing day spent with my inner child. Some people may think this idea sounds nuts, but it is a very powerful and emotional expeience and one that I intend to repeat on a regular basis. Hugs – Juls 🙂

17 02 2011
Marion Driessen

Juls, I totally LOVE your inner child, Including you!
~Mar

18 02 2011
1961 Girl

Marion – you always say the lovliest things. Thank you so much – from me…and my inner child! x 🙂

17 02 2011
Papa Joe

What a wonderful post Juls. Thank you. 🙂

And Happy Birthday Love.

– Papa Joe

18 02 2011
1961 Girl

Thank you Papa Joe…for stopping by and saying ‘hello’. It is always good to know you are around. 🙂

I would miss you and Bob wishing me a daily ‘Happy Birthday’ if it all stopped tomorrow.
Juls 🙂

18 02 2011
Tarot Reading

Hi Juls! Happy Birthday!!!

I know you’re not hitting “follow-up comments” so I’m copying my reply to you here from the Tarot blog where I nominated you for the Stylish Blogger Award! On Tarot I said …

Hi Juls! And Happy Birthday!

You definitely should have this award. Your blog is such a wonderful celebration. As for deadlines, I don’t think there are any. Take your time and don’t stress over it. Enjoy the glow of victory for a while! 🙂

Have fun with it. 🙂

– Bob

So now you don’t have to go to both places. Not much of a birthday present. But a little something. 🙂

Happy Birthday Juls!

– Bob

18 02 2011
1961 Girl

Bob – you are a star!

Thank you for taking the trouble to hop back over here to leave me this comment. And thank you SO MUCH for the Stylish Blogger Award. I was chuffed to bits when I realised what had happened. 😮

It was a lovely birthday present – and one that I will cherish. I will follow through with the task assigned as a result of the award over the next few days. Classy Rose and I have to confer first… 🙂

In the meantime, as you suggest, I shall be enjoying the ‘glow’ of victory! 🙂

18 02 2011
Marcia

I used to have a tarot deck called the ‘inner child’ and they were lovely. I don’t do tarot now, have moved on in other ways spiritually. However, great post – we all need to connect with our inner child. I thought it was interesting how you gave the negative, nagging things in life a male persona, why was that I wonder?

19 02 2011
1961 Girl

You’ve given me some food for thought there. I hadn’t realised that I’d used a male persona. I will have to ponder on that one to understand where I was coming from when I wrote those words. Thanks for the observation Marcia. Hugs, Juls 🙂

19 02 2011
eof737

Its’ always fun to let that inner child come out and play… could stand to have her jump round more often.
Eliz

Leave a Reply

